Dong Van Old Quarter
Dong Van old quarter locates at the center of Dong Van district. In the past, Dong Van belonged to Dong Quan district, Binh Nguyen mountain district, Tuong Yen district, then belonged to Bao Lac district, administered by Tay people Official, Nong clan. Under the invasion of French colonialist, Dong Van was split from Bao Lac. In the restoration of peace, in 1962, Dong Van was divided into 3 districts: Dong Van, Meo Vac, Yen Minh.
General architect of houses in Old Quarter is remarkably similar, including: wooden column, 2 floors garret and ground floor, earth wall, or 0,5m wide brick wall, truss, milled wooden, pine column without dowel, sophisticated carve but remaining original of wood structure. Yin-yang types roof- a special type roof of Northern bordering ethnic group. Among more than 20 approximately 100-year-old houses of Dong Van Old Quarter, Luong clan’s is the oldest, which was built in 1890.
In main fair (market day, Sunday), Dong Van Old Quarter becomes more crowded where the local products and special produce are sold. Moreover, the fair is also the place for ethnic people to exchange their own culture. Cultural activities are performed to decorate Dong Van Old Quarter. In 2009, Dong Van Old Quarter was ranked as National artistry architectural relics by Ministry of Culture, Sports and Tourism.
More Ha Giang Travel Information:
High Quality Tour Service: